Getting Past Pain

It’s honestly amazing how quickly things can change. When I think about where I was only 4 months ago, I can’t believe I’m the same person. When my body was so blown up with fluid that my clothes no longer fit, when I had to sit to shower because if I stood for more than a minute I’d start blacking out, when I’d count out the minutes until I could press my PCA (patient controlled analgesia a.k.a the real reason people get operations).

What’s even more unreal is how quickly the memory of that pain has faded. I can hardly even remember what it felt like to be up at 3am in agony after going through every pain med I could have. I remember that it happened, and that it was shit at the time, but at some point it ended and now I’d find it hard to identify where the pain was coming from.

I guess the memory of pain must be linked to its intensity. A fortnight ago, I started getting a sharp, stabbing pain in my right side (probably from running around a little too much) and when a week later it hadn’t subsided, I was sent by my GP to the ED. The pain itself wasn’t giving me too much trouble (likely thanks to the few handfuls of Endone) but when it comes to the liver, if you so much as look at your right side you’re referred to emergency. In the end, it was either a small hernia or sutures dissolving and pulling apart but apparently nothing to be concerned about, and the following week it was gone. Now, just a few days later, it’s like it never happened. I feel better than I did before.

Obviously, experiences with recovery are not the same across the board, and I know many other people who have had or are having a much bumpier ride post-transplant than me, but it’s kind of reassuring to know that one day it just get better. It might not lessen the pain, but it helps you appreciate getting to the other side of it.

Then again, maybe it’s just my shitty memory. At any rate, I’m doing well, have had my meds dropped again (now on just 3 different types) and hope to be training for next year’s Transplant Games by the end of the month.

If anyone ever has any questions about the transplant process or anything that I mention, please feel free to comment or shoot me a message.

Thanks for reading!

16585095_178724235947268_1851219909183275008_n
Nothing like the pain of an empty cup – #coffeeisgoodforme #acartoontoldme

 

Leave a Reply

