Thank you.

I don’t know where else I could possibly begin writing about how a transplant has changed my life without first recognising those who are responsible for getting me here. I may still have a long way to go before I’m running marathons and lifting kayaks, but I’d be a lot further off if it hadn’t been for the support and assistance I’ve received from family, friends and strangers alike.

So thank you to the countless number of professionals and volunteers who had a hand in my recovery – dietitians, physiotherapists, coordinators, phlebotomists, radiologists and pharmacists. Thank you to the incredibly undervalued nurses, for always listening, for putting my comfort above their work schedule, and for all the heat packs and extra blankets. Thank you to the teams of doctors who worked everyday to keep me alive, for always taking the time to explain complicated information, for being honest about potential outcomes, and for deciding not to kill off my spleen. Thank you to all my friends and family who took the time to visit me in hospital again and again, especially to those who brought snacks! Thank you to those who have followed me through this online, sending messages of support any way they were able. Thank you to my parents, for always being there to worry when I don’t – I really am glad you’re around to look out for me. Thank you to all the online communities, who I’ll likely never meet in person but who’ve given me so much information and answered so many questions. And of course, thank you to my donor and their loved ones for this unreal gift, I owe you more than I can ever repay and think about you and the difference you’ve made to my life every single day.

This whole process has honestly opened my eyes to how much I owe my life to others, and I know I will come to rely on many more people in the future. I only hope I’m given the opportunity to pay that kindness and generosity forward, and inspire others to do the same.

2 thoughts on “Thank you.

  1. Hi CHRIS, so good to hear from you. You are remarkable and very brave. It sounds like you are well on the road to a full recovery. We send our very best wishes you and all the family and friends who are helping you. Loads of love, wishing you all good days always Pete & Pam 😍😍😘😘✈️🌏❤️xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

